CCCC 2015 Forecast

I’m excited to be traveling to Florida this week for CCCC 2015, where I will be co-presenting on how to build credibility in social media spaces. This is something that has been of great interest to me for nearly a decade as a Professional Television Broadcast Meteorologist. I’m also looking forward to meeting and speaking with educators and communications professionals from around the country. And if you’re like me you’re looking forward to higher temps and sunny skies. Here’s my personal forecast to help you C’s folks know what to expect over the next coming days.

Coming off of a BITTER cold February here in Ohio, it’s hard to imagine what 80 degrees feels like at this point. Just yesterday we were able to warm into the mid 60’s for the first time since November of 2014, and let me tell you, it felt absolutely amazing! So you can probably imagine my excitement when looking at the forecast for this years convention and seeing temperatures well into the 80’s.

I am expecting a good deal of sunshine on Wednesday across much of Florida. With this sun, high temperatures should easily warm into the mid 80’s. Here is a look at the projected temps around 4 PM Wednesday.

Wednesday 4 PM Temps

A very weak cold front will SLOWLY drop south toward the Tampa area during the day as well. This front could spark off a few light rain showers late afternoon and evening, but it’s honestly looking like most of the day will be dry thanks to a strong area of high pressure sitting over the Gulf of Mexico.

Wednesday

As this front slowly sags south on Thursday we’ll see a better chance for pop up type rain showers. The cold front will slowly settle across Central Florida by Thursday afternoon, all the while the aforementioned area of high pressure weakens a bit over the Gulf. This will be a little more conducive for scattered showers Thursday afternoon and evening. Here is a look at Thursday morning around 10 AM.

Thursday AM

And here is a look by Thursday afternoon with showers developing along the cold front.

Thursday PM

Again, these showers will be widely scattered on Thursday and by no means do I think it will be anywhere near a wash out. Even with a few more clouds and the possibility of showers I still think temperatures by Thursday afternoon should easily make it into the 80’s.

Thursday 2 Temps

It’s looking like more of the same into Friday and Saturday with that weakening cold front still possibly being the focus for light showers. Temperatures should hold into the low 80’s too well into the weekend!

Check out my presentation, “Examining Ethos in Social Media Spaces” session I-23 from 12:30-1:45 p.m. on Friday. I’m looking forward to meeting you!

 

5 thoughts on “CCCC 2015 Forecast

  1. So proud of you Kyle, just like one of my own boys ! I look forward to your reports every time. What else does a 92 year old have to do ???? Thank you so much. Audrey Myers

  2. I’m also a non-traditional 1st time presenter at this year’s #CCCC2015, doing Risk and Rewards of Patient Engagment in Healthcare Communication Design with Patrick Thomas, U. of Dayton, and Rachel Bloom, u. of Kansas, Lawrence. We arrived earlier this week to make sure we could acclimate to the sunshine and tropical temperatures. i’m happy to report the exposure has been well tolerated. If you have time and are present on thursday, I would love to chat with you after our presentation. (C.31 – 1:45) – Laura

    • I’m so jealous! My wife and I are flying in tomorrow (Thursday) our flight lands at 3 PM so unfortunately I won’t at the convention center until at least 5 PM. We will be there all day on Friday though, maybe we can chat then? Our presentation is at 12:45.

Leave a Reply

